Let’s Face The Music and Dance

Let’s Face The Music and Dance

  • Record Label: Legacy
  • Catalog#: 88765 425852
  • Country Of Release: NLD
  • Year Of Release: 2013
  • Notes: .. And Dance

This April-2013 Willie Nelson turns 80 years old, a milestone which has not slowed down the American icon in the slightest.

Following the success of his 2012 success Heroes, Willie Nelson returns, this time with his Family band, to deliver another beautiful new album of songs that are near and dear to his heart.

Like the man himself, this stunning collection is not easily defined by genre or style. The songs include American standards and country classics, Irving Berlin and Carl Perkins, Django Reinhart as well as Willie-penned originals. Yet the result is a beautiful, cohesive set songs about love and reflection in Willie’s inimitable style. It is a record in the vein of both Stardust and Redheaded Stranger and destined to become a classic.

List Price: $ 11.98

Price: $ 1.99

Find More Willie Nelson Products

Share and Enjoy:
  • Print
  • Digg
  • StumbleUpon
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Yahoo! Buzz
  • Twitter
  • Google Bookmarks

2 Responses to Let’s Face The Music and Dance

  • M. Mariba "the teacher" says:
    15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
    5.0 out of 5 stars
    Music Legend Willie Nelson Shows No Sign Of Slowing Down!, April 16, 2013
    M. Mariba “the teacher” (pretoria, south africa) –
    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)

    This review is from: Let’s Face The Music and Dance (Audio CD)

    Following on the successful 2012 CD release ‘Heroes’, country music legend singer-songwriter Willie Nelson And Family are back in 2013 with a wonderful and a rather quite diverse CD release titled ‘Let’s Face The Music And Dance’. Like in the CD ‘Heroes’ (14 tracks), Willie Nelson combines both covers and his original compositions as in this new CD ‘Let’s Face The Music And Dance'(14 tracks). He had Lukas and Micah Nelson featured well in ‘Heroes’ & the overall sound of the album was that of a combination of country & pop. I agree with the record label that the music in this CD ‘Let’s Face The Music And Dance’ is difficult to categorize : it’s rather a balanced combination of jazzy, bluesy, popish/rocky, country and latin influenced tracks.

    Jazzy tracks include the wonderful opening/title track “Let’s Face The Music And Dance” : a smooth jazzy track with a beautiful melody and the unmistaken vocals by the master Willie Nelson & “You’ll Never Know”. Bluesy tracks include “Is The Better Part Over” : a rocky-bluesy track with great horns sound, “Walking My Baby Back Home”, “I Can’t Give You Anything But Love” & “I Wish I Didn’t Love You So”. Latin guitar/influenced tracks include “Vous Et Moi”, “I’ll Keep On Loving You” & “Nuages”.

    Stand-out tracks/gems/my favourite tracks inlude the title/opening track “Let’s Face The Music And Dance”, “Twilight Time” : a mid-tempo laid-back track with incredible melody/piano/vocals and accordion sound & “South Of The Border” : mid-tempo smooth track, beautiful melody & vocals. I like the accordion sound in this track, the song itself is reminiscent of another of my favourite song “Across The Border” by Bruce Springsteen from his 1995 album ‘The Ghost Of Tom Joad’. Apart from okay track “Matcbox”, the rest of the remaining 10 tracks are very enjoyable tracks.

    On overall, Willie Nelson, turning 80 years young in April shows no signs of slowing down. He would like us to just ‘Let’s Face The Music And Dance’, not try to box him in some category of music or style. With 60 years in the music industry, with over 200 albums under his belt and 7 Grammy Awards, I think he can afford to do so. A highly recommended CD listening.

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes

  • hyperbolium says:
    8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
    3.0 out of 5 stars
    +1/2 – Willie and Family stroll through the Great American Songbook, April 30, 2013
    hyperbolium (Earth, USA) –

    This review is from: Let’s Face The Music and Dance (Audio CD)

    Willie Nelson sang from the Great American Songbook as early as 1976’s The Sound in Your Mind, and with 1978’s Stardust he demonstrated a unique affinity for pop standards. He continued to draw on this material for decades to come, including 1981’s Over the Rainbow, 1983’s Without a Song and 1988’s What a Wonderful World. His latest collection of pop and country standards is a low-key affair without backing vocals or orchestrations, leaving Nelson’s voice isolated out front of his Family band. His idiosyncratic phrasing continues to serve this type of material wonderfully, but unlike the statement of Stardust, this set is more of a Saturday night jam than a staged performance. With his sister Bobbie and longtime compadres Mickey Raphael and Paul English on board, the sessions feel as if Nelson’s calling out favorites for the group to pick up. The players slide easily into familiar songs, and though the solos can be tentative, the warmth these musicians share, Nelson’s deep feeling for the material and his inimitable singing are all worth hearing.

    Nelson’s recorded many of these songs before, a few several times over. He waxed “You’ll Never Know” in 1983 and again in 1994, but this third time he shares the stage more fully with the piano accompaniment. His original “Is the Better Part Over” is stripped of the strings heard on 1989’s A Horse Called Music, and though nominally about a relationship that’s run it’s course, at age 79, one can hear Nelson singing about his life. “Vous Et Moi” digs more deeply into the percussiveness of Nelson’s guitar strings than the 1999 version heard on Night and Day, and “Twilight Time” is sung in a lower, less-nasal register than his earlier version. Floyd Tillman’s oft-recorded “I’ll Keep on Loving You” provides a gentle western swing, and Carl Perkins’ “Matchbox,” which might seem an odd companion here, fits nicely as semi-acoustic, bluesy rock ‘n’ roll. Nelson greets these songs like old friends, but with renewed enthusiasm each time they meet. 3-1/2 stars, if allowed fractional ratings. [©2013 Hyperbolium]

    Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes

Follow countrymusic on Twitter

[ad code=4 align=center]